celebrations & milestones, Uncategorized

Life Update

To be honest, as I write this, I am not sure what to write. I have a lot to say, but at the same time, I also feel like I have nothing to say. The last time I blogged on this platform was on the 29th of August 2022. Meaning that it has been well over a year since I posted something. And while I wouldn’t say that I have done a lot, I would also say that I have done quite a lot.

To begin with, around August-September 2022, I picked up a new hobby, making bags out of beads. It all started while I was scrolling through Pinterest, and I saw a very beautiful bead bag and wanted to have it. But, it was a bit expensive. But I remembered I had some beads and other materials leftover from when I was used to make beaded necklaces in 2016. I decided to use those to see if I could make the bead bag. It took me very long to finish it, but alas, with the help of YouTube, I completed my first bead bag. This, of course, took me to a world of making bags out of beads, which is amazing for me, seeing as I don’t know how to crotchet. And of course, my friends and family advised me to monetise my hobby since I was basically ( I am still) broke.

I decided to launch my bead bag brand in January 2024, called Timi Luxe on Instagram. While I wouldn’t say that it has been a bust since I have sold 10 bags in 2023 to my only customer. It hasn’t really been successful. Nonetheless, I am not giving up.

Around June 2023, I wrote my final exams, and around July 2023, I defended my project work, which was titled, “Investigation Of Anxiolytic And Antidepressant-like Activity of Cajanus cajan Ethanoic Seed Extract.” My project basically was to discover if the ethanoic seed extract of Pigeon Pea (Cajanus cajan) had a potential anxiety- calming and antidepressant activity. And, my results showed that seed extract of Pigeon Pea has planti anxiety and antidepressant effects, and I got an “A” in that project work.

I know that in most countries in the world, as soon as you are done with your final exams in university, you graduate and start working. However, that is not the case here in Nigeria. Instead, new graduates are expected to participate in a 9-12 months compulsory paramilitary programme called NYSC. Your entry into starting the NYSC programme is very dependent on how fast your university does your processing. Since I have finished from the University of Lagos, my processing and other people’s processing has been quite slow. This means that I have been home since July and will still be home till February or April. It all depends on my school.

Nevertheless, this doesn’t mean I have been doing nothing at home. Quite opposite actually, instead I have sort of become an unpaid sales/retail worker at my mum’s store so that had kept me quite busy. In addition to that, I have also become consistent with my fitness. While I wouldn’t say, I have become a gym person. I honestly don’t joke with my 10000 steps and my sleep. And, my nutrition is a work in progress, but I will say I am quite consistent. I would honestly say that I try to reach my goals 5-6 days out of 7 days in a week, so there is that.

Finally, I am also proud to announce that on the 17th of January 2024, I successfully graduated, and I am now a pharmacologist and toxicologist. (Check out pics on my personal ig).

Anyway, thank you for reading, and I wish you all a very happy and lovely 2024. Cheers🥂

Leave a comment